NASA NEWS National Aeronautics and Space Administration



June 24, 2010

Patton Tidmore NASA Shared Services Center Stennis Space Center, MS 39529-6000 228-813-6486 <u>c.patton.tidmore@nasa.gov</u>

PRESS RELEASE: 10-001

NASA SHARED SERVICES CENTER RECOGNIZES LOCAL EMPLOYEES AT ANNUAL AWARDS CEREMONY

STENNIS SPACE CENTER, Miss. - The NASA Shared Services Center's (NSSC's) fourth annual Honor Awards Ceremony was held on June 10, 2010, at the Stennis Space Center StenniSphere Auditorium. This ceremony honors employees at the local center for exceptional performance at the center or agency level.

According to NSSC Executive Director Richard Arbuthnot, "These employees know what it takes and continue to look for new ways to excel and move to the next level of excellence." To commemorate their exceptional achievements, NASA's Associate Administrator for Mission Support Dr. Woodrow Whitlow, Jr., delivered a special keynote address.

The NSSC Deputy Director of Service Delivery Kenneth Newton, received NASA's Exceptional Achievement Medal. This prestigious award honors significant, specific accomplishment or substantial improvement in operations, efficiency, service, financial savings, science or technology that contributes to the NASA mission.

Newton, of Mandeville, La., has been involved with the NSSC since before the doors opened in 2006, and he has been an integral part of the organization's success. Mr. Newton's duties include managing more than 100 civil servants in the Service Delivery Directorate and serving as the transition manager responsible for leading the transition of activities to the NSSC. Mr. Newton began his NASA career at Kennedy Space Center in 1989.

Cynthia Epperson received NASA's Exceptional Service Medal, given to honor significant sustained performance characterized by unusual initiative or creative ability that clearly demonstrates substantial improvements or contributions in engineering, aeronautics, space flight, administration, support or space-related endeavors that contribute to NASA's mission.

Epperson, of Long Beach, Miss., has served as the NSSC financial management division chief since 2006. She has been at the forefront of process refinement and has achieved significant cost savings for the agency, including leading the implementation -more-

-2-

of the electronic leave and earning statement last year, an annual savings to the agency of over \$180,000. She began her NASA career in 1976 at Stennis Space Center.

Two employees received the NASA Exceptional Public Service Medal. The medal is presented to those who are not government employees, but who have made exceptional contributions to the mission of NASA. The 2010 recipients of the NASA Exceptional Public Service Medal are: Steve Collins and Art Askew.

Collins, of Slidell, La., is the service provider deputy program manager for CSC. Collins' successful tenure with CSC spans 30 years. He has been a part of the NSSC team since 2006, but he has been supporting NASA since 1978 on a variety of assignments. In his current position, his leadership has contributed directly to the successful transition of over 50 services to the NSSC.

Askew, NSSC customer contact center manager, has been with the NSSC since it was established. Under his leadership, the customer contact center successfully attained Help Desk Institute (HDI) Support Center Certification, an industry certification that recognizes help desks that exemplify the achievement of industry best practices.

NASA Certificates of Appreciation were presented to the following NSSC employees: Debi Bordelon, Michael Tubbs, Sharon McCormick, Elaine Couchman, Cassandra Williams and Michele Bergeron.

NASA Public Service Group Achievement Awards were given to: The NSSC Customer Contact Center Team and the NSSC Process Improvement and Software Development Team.

NSSC Certificates of Achievement were awarded to: Brad Binder, Rolando Espino, Stephanie Ratcliff, Theresa Stanley and Michael Ann Townsend.

NSSC Group Achievement Awards were presented to: the Extended Tour of Duty Video Team, the Grants Payments Transition Team, the Agency Cash Recognition Tool Team, the Financial Management Paperless Process Improvement Team, the Awards and Recognition Team, the Document Imaging Process Improvement Team and the Small Business Innovation Research / Small Business Technology Transfer Phase One Awards Team.

Honor awards recognize carefully selected individuals and groups, both government and non-government, who have made outstanding contributions to the agency's missions.

For information about the NASA Shared Services Center, visit: http://www.nssc.nasa.gov

For information about NASA and agency programs, visit: http://www.nasa.gov -end-